SDAR Wind Orchestra… Let’s Hear Them Out


For today, I’m not going to post anything fiery. Today I’m just going to tell the readers of this blog something that may sooth your ears (and possibly mind). It is about my former school trying to organize an orchestra performance.

Frankly speaking, when I was back in SDAR, wind orchestra or even band (not with the guitars and drums) did not catch interest of many boys at school. Being boys, most of us involved something rough and tough sports and activities, but small took part in part of the school band. Whatmore the equipment and facilities were not that good plus most of the instruments were second hand. The sound? Well, for me, what to expect from second hand material that needed extra care. We were more interested and amazed with the sounds of musics played by Tunku Kurshiah College, KGV or any other schools, but not having high expectation on SDAR’s band.

However, it was years ago. Since those years, SDAR have developed other kind of team that plays with musical intruments. Wind Orchestra???

When I first heard about it, I was trying to imagine the boys playing Petronas Philharmonic type of play with the instruments that I saw during my school days. I tried to picture them with the sounds in a positive way, but I couldn’t.

However, my imagination was dumb founded. SDAR Wind Orchestra turned out to be better than expected. In 2009, they were 2nd place behind Tunku Kurshiah College in Festival Wind Orchestra for SBPs. I know, even though it was just between boarding schools, still, SDAR was not in the same league during my time.

This year alone, they appeared in positive mood. They were guest for MHI on 23rd February 2010 and then performed a concert at Auditorium Tuanku Chik, Seremban few days later. The performance was excellent (considering vast improvements since the day I left the school).

Perhaps, for those who are interested, especially the SDAR old boys and those who love to hear the sound of good music, you try to ask how to see them in action:

Let’s hear them out and see how good they are…

Β 

4 thoughts on “SDAR Wind Orchestra… Let’s Hear Them Out

  1. MCKK is well known for producing gays like Anwar Ibrahim. Is SDAR the same? Don’t be angry. Just wanted a clarification.

    Ketuanan Melayu

    ODS: As far as I am concerned, none that I know of..

    However, I do consider that there may be some bad apples among the shiny ones.. but not in sodomy cases..πŸ™‚

  2. Saya X-STJ. Masih teringat, SDAR adalah musuh ketat STJ dalam ragbi.

    Tapi, kita tidak bermusuh rasanya.πŸ˜‰

    ODS:< Ya rimau, SDAR dan STJ memang musuh ketat dalam permainan ragbi.. tetapi sekadar dalam permainan.. bukan betul-betul bermusuh.πŸ™‚

    1. Kurshians have been better from SDARians in the previous years… if you girls better than my super juniors, I have no suprise. It will only be a suprise if SDAR can beat TKC.. hehehe

You are part of people on the street. My opinion might not as good as yours. Come, please share your thoughts with us!!!

