In the name of Allah


bismillah

“In the name of Allah, Most Merciful, Most Compassionate” will be the translation of the arabic words written above, and I believe, some of the none-muslim has seen it before. My guess at the moment is some has and have realize that the issue on using the name “Allah” in publication of The Herald in Malaysia has touched the sensitivity of Muslims in Malaysia.

Some blogs that I have visited  (the likes of Apocryphalist through JMD’s blog, Screenshot’s and Nuraina Samad to name a few) have voiced their opinion on this issue, and as expected, there are various point of views as a result of such postings. Some argued in positive manner, and some don’t. I guess the best act “to solve” or “way forward” is as per Apocryphalist’s suggestion in JMD’s blog. Only that, I wonder, what will be the Muslims would react to it. Against or do nothing?

My stand? I prefer the name “Allah” not to be used by other religion. Why?

Let us go back to basics where Muslims become a Muslim, and Christians become a Christian – the pledge / creed. This is where, from my point of view, differs why the name “Allah” should not be used by other than Muslims.

The pledge /creed or shahadah in Islam sounds like this:

“(Arabic text: ) أشهد أن لا إله إلاَّ الله و أشهد أن محمد رسول الله “(Romanization: ) ʾ”ašhadu ʾal lā ilāha illa l-Lāh, wa ʾašhadu ʾanna muḥammadar rasūlu l-Lāh.”

Translation:

“I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship except Allah and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger”.

Of course, there’s also some other things that Muslims must fulfill to stay as a Muslim, same goes to any other religion which defines how the believers should act.

For Christians, my understanding based on this web is there’s no specific pledge/creed to be followed, but to believe Jesus Christ died on the cross to save you from your sins and give you eternal life, come to him by faith and pray a simple prayer to God. Based on the source, the prayer for salvation sounded like this:

“Dear Lord,
I admit that I am a sinner. I have done many things that don’t please you. I have lived my life for myself. I am sorry and I repent. I ask you to forgive me. I believe that you died on the cross for me, to save me. You did what I could not do for myself. I come to you now and ask you to take control of my life, I give it to you. Help me to live every day in a way that pleases you. I love you, Lord, and I thank you that I will spend all eternity with you.”

Both indeed accepting and believe God  exist, only that Muslims believe there’s only one God – Allah. However, as far as I know, Christian believe in The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit. Three, not One. 

In which, that makes Apocryphalist’s argument in Kijangmas’ blog sounds logical (read the part “Base :: In Bible/other Literature :: In Quran”). Pronouncation wise, “Allah” isn’t suitable for Christian, and as for believe, it is crystal clear that Islam and Christianity differs.

In Apocryphalist’s article in JMD’s blog, Eyes Wide Open gave some good arguments on the usage. However, if it is allowed, I guess there’s no speciality or exclusivity of other names in the world, in a wide range context. Why? If name of God can be used as anyone’s please (considering that the belief’s of human being is the “backbone”/ “pillar” of who believe in God and of course regard as the highest sensitivite matter), I believe any name for any type can also be used ( of course, for Atheist is a non-issue).

Some may argue, in Indonesia the Christians have used “Allah”. I guess it is shocking indeed for Muslims in Indonesia to allow that to happen. Especially when Gus Dur, who is considered as ulama (seriously, I doubt that) being baptised.  This is the point where I see a potential of confusion of belief. With the moral issues surrounding our muslim youth in Malaysia, the usage of “Allah” in other religions’ preech, publication, prayer, etc, there’s no doubt it will lead to worse confusion.

And that’s why, as Muslims, even though we try to educate ourelves and our children, we also should protect what’s right and prevent what’s wrong for Islam. “Amal ma’aruf, nahil mungkar”.

(ODS NOTE: Read this para with open mind and rationale before reaching any conclusion) Imagine if such other religion use Jesus Christ as their Gods name (e.g. – any of Hindu’s Gods, or any of newly founded The Force religion). Try to imagine, they use “Master Jedi Jesus Christ”. In fact, did Christians allow the religion to be practiced? (Or you can watch the video at youtube entitled: Christians against Star Wars)

The word “Allah”, “Jesus Christ”, and any other God’s name of any other religions in the world is so special and should not be used by other religion.

Words on the street – Some “borders” are not meant to be crossed.

6 thoughts on “In the name of Allah

  1. nice one.
    a fresh take on the current polemic.
    (it’s monday. can’t think to comment intellectually. hope you can appreciate my simple ‘hi’.)

    ODS: No problem river. Not just monday, but also a holiday in Wilayah Persekutuan. Haha

  2. Salam perjuangan,

    Pemuda IKS is against the usage of Allah s.w.t. in their whatsoever undertaking. Dare them to cross, let’s see the outcome.

    Pemuda IKS also believes in “Everything happens for a reason”, so they might have something fishy to use Allah s.w.t. that we, Muslims don’t see.

    “Memperkasa Generasi Baru”

    Pergerakan Pemuda
    UMNO Cawangan Taman IKS
    Bahagian Batu WP

    http://pemudaiks.blogspot.com

    ODS: Sememangnya telah banyak usaha yang telah dilakukan. Bahkan ada yang melakukannya melalui komik-komik dan bacaan ringan. Cuma, ianya agak ketara kerana tidak dapat menggunakan nama “Allah” untuk menyelindungkan niat.

    Maaf kata, disinilah bezanya dakwah Islamiah dan Kristian. Islam tidak memaksa atau dalam apa jua cara untuk menarik penganut agama lain untuk menjadi Islam. Jika mahu tahu mengenai Islam, silalah, pintu ilmu memang terbuka.

    Wallahualam…

  3. in the translation of:
    ʾ”ašhadu ʾal lā ilāha illa l-Lāh, wa ʾašhadu ʾanna muḥammadar rasūlu l-Lāh.”
    You have failed to breakdown ‘Allah’, which in my understanding is One God. So if fully literally translated by meaning it should be:

    “I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship except ‘The One God’ and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger”.

    If translated as such, ‘Allah’ may be used by Christians simply because they too believe in One God, but Three Personified.

    Even Jesus, quoted Moses that “Hear O Israel, The LORD (YHWH) our God (Elohim = One God = Allah), The LORD (YHWH) is One (Yechad = numeric 1).”

    When you cannot understand the Trinity Mystery, my good friend, don’t comment on it.

    ODS: Mark,
    I just don’t really get it when you said : “If translated as such, ‘Allah’ may be used by Christians simply because they too believe in One God, but Three Personified”

    One God but Three Personified? Three Personified in what way? In Three forms? How come One but Three? or is it One God with Three different Personalities?

    As far I can recall, The Trinity is/are (sorry, I do not know the adjective)- The Father, The Son, and the Holy Spirit. Which one is “The One”? The Father to whom? The Son to whom? Where does the Holy Spirit comes into the picture?

    If really Christians believe in “Allah” (as the word being discussed and debated), does Vatican use “Allah” to describe as God for Christians?

    By the way, I hope that you know that muslims believe there is only one God, not being a father nor a son. Just one..

    And the later part of the syahadah you literally translate, yes, Muhammad (pbuh) is the Messenger of Allah, which Christians do not accept it (if you are really saying Christ believe in One God but having three seperate personalities..).

    Do explain to us how do you describe “One God but Three Personified”. Thank you 🙂

You are part of people on the street. My opinion might not as good as yours. Come, please share your thoughts with us!!!